Infinite Sadness (13h)

Now that I’ve laid out the track listing, I’m up to 13 hours on this project. Here are some notable things:

– The warped text for the title. It’s a lot harder to warp text in Illustrator than it is in PS. It didn’t quite come out the same as in my earlier posts, but I think it might be close enough.

– Hierarchy in the back. I basically tried to achieve this by color choice and text size. At the moment, the information on the bottom seems lost, but I’m hoping that it’ll show a little better once printed.

– Actual layout. I’m not sure about how I feel about the current empty space below the tracks. I might move it down some


Click on the pic for higher res
Any suggestions?

2 Responses to “Infinite Sadness (13h)”


  1. 1 Ricky May 28, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    Looks good… I would tone the strokes on the chica…. if you use a tablet you can do nice thick to thin lines, I think thick to thin strokes would look nice around her hair. The light blue font on the lower left hand corner seems to light and not enough contrast, try different hues…. also align the track list to the left side, so everything is aligned to the left. The gab between DJ Rebellion on the Right (FRONT?) and the Infinite Sadness does not match the gab on the Left (BACK?)…hrmmm if you draw a horizontal grid line on top of the 3 AM you will see what I mean…. 3AM or 3 A.M. ??? Anyways looks good, except for the missing ear, her front bald spot and no body…. 🙂 I would play around with her hair and maybe move some of it across the back to cover the blank space….but then you would have to redo her hair… she also does not look that sad…

  2. 2 edubl31216 May 28, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    Ok… lemme attempt to address your comments:
    – As for tone, I don’t plan on giving her any tonal depth (style choice), so it is what it is.
    – There is some variation in line weight in her hair, but maybe not enough contrast?
    – Yes, there isn’t enough contrast on the back regarding bottom text… maybe all purple instead?
    – The “gab”, I’ll live with that. The current on the front is consistent with the kerning and letting in “Infinite Sadness”
    – I’ve live with the ear… and yes, her forehead is not quite a five-head… maybe a 4.5 head!
    – It’s a muted sad!
    Dang… nitpicky! But thanks for the crit!


Leave a Reply

About

Hi, I’m Eric and I created this site to document and share my design process and finished products. If there’s anything you like (or dislike), leave me a comment or send me an email at designby31216 at gmail dot com. Thanks for stopping by and enjoy the show!

IllType dot com

IllType.com. My sister site featuring illustration and typography.

Archives


