Things I’ve learned (part 1)

With no ‘real’ job, I’ve had to develop habits to make sure that I stay on track. While the following may come as ‘no-brainers’, they might be helpful to you – maybe directly or to be passed on. So, without any further delay…

Time management. Super important! Though my only true time commitments come in the form of class schedules, without some kind of discipline, I could easily get sidetracked. Here a few key items I practice:

– Waking up. Whether I have early or late classes (or weekends), I try to maintain some sort of consistency.

– Assembling my day into 1 or 2 hour blocks. While I never actually schedule when I’m doing what, I try not to spend more than 2 hours on one project. It allows me to stay fresh and not frustrated.

– Determining block importance. For fun projects, just one hour – especially if they’re non-paying. It’s not to say that I don’t revisit the fun projects again during my day. I just have to make sure that I take care of other (re: paying) business.

Ok. I hate to end this so abruptly, but this blog IS one of my fun projects, so I need to refocus. Here’s another update on the album (I know it’s taking forever, but it’s a non-paying project). Peace.

2 Responses to “Things I’ve learned (part 1)”


  1. 1 hbowman98 April 29, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Love the art nouveau feel of this project!


  1. 1 Revisit « Design by 31216 Trackback on May 18, 2008 at 1:03 pm

Leave a Reply

About

Hi, I’m Eric and I created this site to document and share my design process and finished products. If there’s anything you like (or dislike), leave me a comment or send me an email at designby31216 at gmail dot com. Thanks for stopping by and enjoy the show!

IllType dot com

IllType.com. My sister site featuring illustration and typography.

Archives


